Home >> Star Wars >> Star Wars Express Plot Outline

Star Wars Express Plot Outline


Welcome to my Star Wars Express Plot Outline page. Here, I quickly describe the events that take place over the six Star Wars films. These films are, in chronological order, The Phantom Menace (1999), Attack of the Clones (2002), Revenge of the Sith (2005), A New Hope (1977), The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983). The storyline was developed mainly by George Lucas. Although, he originally did not intend to make the prequels when he filmed A New Hope, his pondering of a possible plot opened up the opportunity. I will try to make a quick summary of what happens in Star Wars. You can catch all of the Star Wars lightsaber scenes on my Star Wars video page.

Warning, there are full spoilers here.

The prequel trilogy follows the development of Anakin Skywalker: A child of 'parthenogenesis' (reproduction from an ovum without fertilisation) who is discovered by Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn, who believes him to be the "Chosen One". This concept was foretold by Jedi prophecy to bring balance to the Force. The Jedi Council, led by Yoda, sensed his future was "clouded by fear". Jinn and his apprentice, Obi-Wan Kenobi, encounter a Sith warrior on Naboo (a planet near the Outer Rim territories) called Darth Maul. They enter the first major lightsaber battle in which master duellist Jinn is killed. Obi-Wan, rather miraculously, is able to destroy Darth Maul with an unexpected slicing attack (see the Star Wars video page). The Jedi Council reluctantly allow Obi-Wan Kenobi to train Skywalker after Jinn is killed.

- Obi-Wan battling the well-trained Sith Apprentice Darth Maul

At the same time, the planet Naboo is under attack, and its queen, Padmé Amidala, seeks the assistance of the Jedi to defend against the attack. A vote of "no confidence" is called on Chancellor Valorum and a senator called Palpatine, also from Naboo, becomes the new Supreme Chancellor.

The remainder of the prequel trilogy chronicles Skywalker's fall to the dark side of the Force as well as Palpatine attempting to create a grand army "for the Republic". Amidala and Skywalker fall in love and eventually she becomes pregnant with twins. In between these two events is the end of episode II and the start of episode III. There have been extra movies and TV series set between episode II and III discussing the 'Clone Wars'. Skywalker soon takes on an apprentice called Ahsoka Tano, as depicted in the 2008 film.

Soon, after episode III begins, Skywalker starts to have dreams about Padmé dying, the same dreams that he used to have just before his mother's death. Skywalker becomes desperate and Palpatine tells him that he knows how to save his wife. Palpatine reveals himself to be the dark lord, Darth Sidious, who the Jedi have been looking for. Jedi Master Mace Windu gathers several other Jedi (including Kit Fisto) to arrest Palpatine. A fight erupts with Palpatine drawing his lightsaber for the first time in the Star Wars and he kills three other Jedi but is unable to defeat Mace Windu. Windu uses a special Vaapad lightsaber form, which reflects anger and darkness back at the opponent. Skywalker comes back and declares that Windu cannot kill Palpatine. Skywalker betrays Windu, cutting off his hand, allowing Palpatine to blast him out the window with Force Lightning. Palpatine now instructs Skywalker to slay the Jedi at the Jedi temple as well as travel to Mustafar to kill all the people from the 'Trade Federation', who started the 'Clone Wars'. This culminates in a lightsaber battle between him and his former master Kenobi on the lava planet, Mustafar (see the Star Wars video page). Skywalker's two legs and arm are cut off and his body receives terrible burns from the lava. Kenobi leaves Skywalker for dead, but Palpatine arrives shortly after to save him. Special armour is designed for Skywalker, a black armour suit which helps him breath and covers his burns.

The original trilogy begins nearly 20 years later as Anakin Skywalker, now Darth Vader, nears completion of the massive Death Star space station which will allow him to crush the rebellion which has formed against his evil empire. He captures Princess Leia Organa who has stolen the plans to the Death Star and hidden them in droid R2-D2 who, along with his counterpart C-3PO, escape to the planet Tatooine. There, the droids are purchased by Luke Skywalker, son of Anakin, and his adoptive step-uncle and aunt. R2-D2 escapes and leads Skywalker to Ben Kenobi, formerly called Obi-Wan. Kenobi tells Luke of his father's greatness, but tells him that he was "betrayed and killed" by Vader.

Kenobi and Skywalker hire pilot Han Solo and his co-pilot Chewbacca to take them and the plans to the Rebel Alliance. Kenobi begins to teach Skywalker about the Force, but is killed in a showdown with Vader during the rescue of Princess Leia. His sacrifice allows the group to escape with the plans, that ultimately allow them to destroy the Death Star.

Vader continues to hunt down the rebels, and begins to build a second Death Star. Skywalker travels to find Yoda, under Kenobi's advice, and become trained as a Jedi. Luke's training is interrupted when Vader lures his friends (Han Solo, Chewbacca, etc.) into a trap, capturing them. Vader reveals that he is Luke's father and attempts to turn him to the dark side. He escapes, and returns to his training with Yoda. He learns that he must face his father before he can become a Jedi Knight, and that Leia is his twin sister.

As the rebels attack the new Death Star, Skywalker confronts Vader under the watch of Emperor Palpatine. Instead of convincing Skywalker to join the dark side, Skywalker defeats Vader and tells the emperor that he will "never turn to the dark side". Palpatine, enraged by the strong-hearted Jedi, shocks him with Force lightning. Luke, almost dying, pleas to his father to help him. Vader reveals that there is still good in him by throwing Palpatine into a chasm, destroying him in a massive blast of energy. Vader succumbs to his own injuries. Luke escapes as the second, incomplete Death Star is destroyed. Although not shown in the film, Luke later founds the New Jedi Order. The ultimate conclusion is that all the evil people are defeated and the Jedi Order is rebuilt.


Posted by Proabffmm on Thursday, January 1, 2009.


© Copyright 2009
All Rights Reserved